Visa Information
For visits of up to 90 days, passport holders from the following countries do not need to have a visa to visit Ireland: Andorra, Antigua And Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania Luxembourg, Macau, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & The Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, United Kingdom & Colonies, United States Of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela.

If your country is not listed above, you will need to have a visa to visit Ireland. You can learn more about how to apply for a visa here.

Ireland has working holiday visas available to people from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, New Zealand and Japan. Learn more about working holiday visas here.

You will not need any shots to visit Ireland.

Ireland uses the Euro (€), just like all EU countries (except for the United Kingdom, of course, which remains on the pound). See this currency conversion tool to figure out how far your money will go in Ireland.

Time Zone
Ireland is on the GMT time zone. This country does observe Daylight Savings Time, which begins in Ireland on the last Sunday in March and ends the last Sunday in October.


English is the official language which is used most often, but Irish (Gaelic or Gaeilge) are also official languages in the country. They are most often spoken in the west and south, but you may find them spoken elsewhere (not to mention on road and other signs throughout the country) as well.

Electricity & Plugs
Ireland operates on a 230V/50Hz electrical system. The plugs are considered to be “British style,” with three flat blades – two lying side by side horizontally, and one centered vertically underneath them. The shape roughly forms a T, with a space in the top bar.

Useful Telephone Numbers
Emergency Service – 999 or 112
Directory Information (all charge a fee for call completion, usually not cheap) – 118 11 or 118 50 or 118 90